Walter Scheel Medaille

Concept, Branding, Corporate Design, Illustration, Web Design

Since 2014, the Walter Scheel Medal has been awarded to personalities and institutions who have made outstanding contributions to the promotion of European culture of pleasure.

It reflects the diverse gastronomic traditions of Europe and commemorates the fourth President of the Federal Republic of Germany. Previous winners include Ferran Adrià, Giannola Nonino and Eckart Witzigmann. So much for that. Now, the rebranding.

The concerns: modernization, timeliness, increasing awareness of the award. With our new claim: “The European culture of pleasure – united in diversity” we summarize the underlying idea of ​​the award in a few words. Based on this, we designed the rebranding.

From the new logo and website to stationery and roll-ups for the award ceremonies to illustrations that represent each of the award winners, the appearance has been modernized without forgetting the traditional aspects. For example, the new logo includes Walter Scheel’s original signature.

For the color pallet, we focus on the essential European idea of ​​the award – based on the work “European contextualising (…)” by Remco Torenbosch, we use two different shades of blue, representing the range of a “European blue”.

The newly designed website features portraits of all award winners and additionally, we designed individual illustrations that abstractly depict the core characteristics for which the award winners were awarded. A satisfactory finish with a modern touch. Freude, schöner Götterfunken.

CREDITS

Creative Direction: Albert Handler
Art Direction & Illustrations: Xenia Fastnacht
Website Programming: weitweit.com
Claim: Alexander Heuken
Texte: Christoph Wirtz

CREDITS

Creative Direction: Albert Handler
Art Direction & Illustrations: Xenia Fastnacht
Website Programming: weitweit.com
Claim: Alexander Heuken
Texte: Christoph Wirtz

Walter Scheel Medaille

Concept, Branding, Corporate Design, Illustration, Web Design

Die Walter Scheel Medaille zeichnet seit dem Jahr 2014 Persönlichkeiten und Institutionen aus, die sich in herausragender Weise um die Förderung der europäischen Genusskultur verdient gemacht haben.

Sie steht im Zeichen der vielfältigen gastronomischen Traditionen Europas und im Andenken an den vierten Bundespräsidenten der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Zu den bisherigen Preisträgerinnen und Preisträgern zählen unter anderem Ferran Adrià, Giannola Nonino und Eckart Witzigmann. So viel mal dazu. Jetzt kommt das Rebranding.

Die Anliegen: Modernisierung, Aktualität, Steigerung der Bekanntheit der Auszeichnung. Durch unseren neue Claim: „Die europäische Genusskultur – in Vielfalt geeint“ fassen wir den Grundgedanken der Auszeichnung in wenigen Worten zusammen.

Darauf aufbauend gestalteten wir das Rebranding. Von neuem Logo und Web-Auftritt über die Geschäftsausstattung und Roll-Ups für die Preisverleihungen bis hin zu individuellen Illustrationen, die die einzelnen Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger repräsentieren, wurde das Erscheinungsbild modernisiert, ohne dabei den Traditionsgedanken zu vergessen. So beinhaltet zum Beispiel das neue Logo die Original-Unterschrift von Walter Scheel.

In der Farbwelt greifen wir den europäischen Grundgedanken der Auszeichnung auf – in Anlehnung an die Arbeit „European contextualising (…)“ von Remco Torenbosch verwenden wir zwei verschiedene Blau-Töne im neuen Design, repräsentativ für die Bandbreite eines „europäischen Blaus“.

Auf der neu designten Website sind die PreisträgerInnen mit ihren Portraits zu finden. Als Ergänzung gestalteten wir individuelle Illustrationen, die abstrahiert die Kern-Merkmale abbildet, für die die PreisträgerInnenausgezeichnet wurde. Ein runder Abschluss mit modernem Touch. Freude, schöner Götterfunken.

CREDITS

Creative Direction: Albert Handler
Art Direction & Illustrations: Xenia Fastnacht
Website Programming: weitweit.com
Claim: Alexander Heuken
Texte: Christoph Wirtz

CREDITS

Creative Direction: Albert Handler
Art Direction & Illustrations: Xenia Fastnacht
Website Programming: weitweit.com
Claim: Alexander Heuken
Texte: Christoph Wirtz